The orthopedist visit and MRI

I met the orthopedist on June 14th. They took off the splint from the ER and told me I had fractured my second metatarsal and I would need an MRI in order to determine ligament damage and the extent of the Lisfranc injury. He was impressed that the ER doctor caught the Lisfranc injury. He said they are usually misdiagnosed. I had the classic bruising and swelling that I had seen on the web.

The first look at my foot without the splint.

The first look at my foot without the splint.

He put me in a boot and said no weight bearing—which I already knew since if I tried to put any weight on my foot, I would have passed out in pain. It was incredibly swollen and later in the day was much more grossly bruised. I kept the ace bandages they had used with the splint and wrapped my foot in them to help with the swelling. The boot was heavy and squeezed and pulled on my foot. It was very uncomfortable so I only put it on if I went out of the house. I used just the bandages at home and when I slept.

My foot later that night. Much more zombie like.

My foot later that night. Much more zombie like.

I made an appointment for the MRI on the following Wednesday, June 19, and would not get the results until the following Monday, June 24, because the doctor was out of town. I had to be incredibly persistent, patient and polite to also get an appointment with the surgeon in case that was needed the following Friday, June 28.

The MRI experience was a little strange. I was concerned because they had to squish my foot into place between two pieces of plastic with a kind of clay mold between it. They told me that it may hurt but it wasn’t too bad. The MRI machine was much louder than I remembered. I had some problems with my knee a while back and I recall mostly humming and clicking from the machine. This machine was sounded like a space ship in battle. I had earplugs and headphones on and it was still mind numbingly loud. At least I went in feet first so I didn’t have to deal with being inside the tube. My leg was somewhat bent and propped up on a pillow so my foot would be flat so they could image it. I stared at the timer and tried to stay as still as possible while I waited for it to finish. It took around 40 minutes.

MRI

The next day, my calf was sore and I couldn’t figure out why. At first I thought it was because I had been out in the boot for an extended period of time and it was heavier than when I was at home without it. I figured out it was from having it flexed for 40 minutes at the MRI. I was glad it got in a little bit of a workout since I knew it wouldn’t be getting much use while I have this injury.

Monday, the orthopedist showed me the MRI. The first thing he said to me was, “You really did a number on yourself.” That did not make me feel at ease. He said there definitely was tearing and he did not see the ligament where it should be. He said surgery was likely but they may treat it conservatively and not do surgery, just a hard cast. I was quite upset and felt tears stinging my eyes. I was already two weeks into this injury and would basically go back to the beginning if I needed surgery. I waited, again, to see the surgeon on Friday, June 28, and see what my fate was.

The boot and I at a party over the weekend. My friend gave me a monkey bandaid to cover up the hospital logo on the boot. The purple cone flower was for flair!

The boot and I at a party over the weekend. My friend gave me a monkey bandaid to cover up the hospital logo on the boot. The purple cone flower was for flair!

One thought on “The orthopedist visit and MRI

Leave a Reply

