Ever heard of this???

Crutch Dust. Never heard of it? What is it, you ask? Well, if you’ve ever been on crutches or been around anyone that uses crutches frequently, you have probably seen crutch dust.

Crutch dust on the kitchen rug after my crutches fell over while cooking.

Crutch dust on the kitchen rug after my crutches fell over while cooking.

Crutch dust consists of the flakes of rubber that fall out of your crutches when you set them on their side or when they fall over and it comes tumbling out of the handles. Crutch dust will also accumulate in the area between the passenger seat and the door of your vehicle. I’ve apologized several times for the crutch dust mess because I lay my crutches on their side between the door and the seat and inevitably, crutch dust escapes. It’s a telltale sign that I’ve been around if you see a little crutch dust.

Crutch dust on the hardwoods. I hate it when it gets in the little cracks.

Crutch dust on the hardwoods. I hate it when it gets in the little cracks.

When I first saw crutch dust, on the floor by my couch, I thought someone with a sunburn had peeled their skin off and threw it into little piles on the floor. Seeing as how no one with a sunburn had visited me recently and I really don’t hang out with people that would do anything so…Ewww! I had to do a little bit of investigation. My first clue was that it had accrued below where I prop my crutches against the couch. I looked at the handles and realized that every time I press down on the handles, I am wearing away a little at the rubber and creating crutch dust. I then named this phenomenon crutch dust –annoying, messy and perpetual. Crutch dust always seems to fall out right after I vacuum so I can never truly get the floor free of all crutch dust. Also, you cannot clean up crutch dust with a damp paper towel. I’ve tried. The best way to get rid of it is vacuum it. So, there you have it.

Crutch dust-- the bane of crutchers everywhere.

Crutch dust– the bane of crutchers everywhere.

You’ve learned about crutch dust today. Crutch dust is probably something you never would have known about if you hadn’t stopped by here…or given me a ride anywhere! The best part of this blog is that I managed to type crutch dust over a dozen times. Go out in the world today and impress your friends with your newfound knowledge of crutch dust!

4 thoughts on “Ever heard of this???

  1. Pingback: What the Crutch? Tips and Stories About My Friends! | Supine Musings…Tales from the Couch

  2. Pingback: My Partial Weight Bearing Debut and Crutchmata! | Supine Musings…Tales from the Couch

  3. Pingback: Musings After Surgery, I am Not a Noun, Resolutions | Supine Musings…NEW and IMPROVED Tales from OFF the Couch!

Leave a Reply

