Walking at 3 MPH; Life Going at 100 MPH

It seems I’ve forgotten how to blog. I haven’t written in almost a month. Mostly because my life has been exploding with opportunities to work, many social events and meeting new people. It has been really fantastic to be so busy and out participating in the world. I hope this momentum will keep up well into the New Year. In order for me to be able to participate, I must take care of myself and be as physically fit as possible. I’ve been doing strength training on and off for the entirety of my recovery and the last few months, I’ve been going to physical therapy. One thing I’ve been resisting recently is practicing long walks. There are always a myriad of excuses, some of them even valid, most of them are nonsense, of course. I remind myself what I truly want and act on that.

I decided to walk two miles today. I started my walk by taking my dress over to the dry cleaners. I used Google Pedometer to map out my route before I started so I knew I would be going two miles. It took me a little over 40 minutes so I guess that means I’m walking a 20 minute mile which is 3 MPH. I’m definitely not breaking any speed records but my foot feels alright and I accomplished what I wanted. I walked over uneven ground, outside, up and down hills. I walked over sweet gum balls and leaves and paid close attention to where I was walking. I walked through my fears, anxieties and excuses.

It was pretty amazing and several times during the walk, it felt like a dream. At about a mile and a half, I was going to go ahead and try for a 5k but then decided that I better gradually increase my mileage and not do too much too fast. Oddly enough, my hip muscles on my right leg were probably what I noticed the most. Also, at one point my ankle joint seemed to be a little stiff. I guess all the joints in my right leg are not used to working so they responded accordingly.

After I finished the walk, I did 20 minutes of yoga with a Rodney Yee DVD I have. I noticed my body is extremely tight all over, not just my hips. This experience has been very humbling for me. Sometimes I think I am very close to being back to ‘normal’. Then I do something as ‘easy’ as a two mile walk, something that I used to do everyday without thinking about, and I know that I still have very far to go to get back to the fitness level I was at before I injured myself. I don’t waste time wondering how I am going to do it. I know I must keep doing small amounts and making positive changes cumulatively and in no time I will be where I want to be. Focus is key. This time of year is prime for regaining focus.

I have a date to get my hardware out next year, January 17th. I would like to run a 5k in March. That goal will need to be worked out with Dan to see if it is a realistic goal. I’ve finished my physical therapy sessions for the year and will start up next year on the 7th. I’m excited that I will be getting the screws out and that will be the final step in my foot making a complete recovery. The last couple of months have been an absolute whirlwind and I look forward to more opportunities presenting themselves next year!

There have been a lot of ups and downs this year. This injury is certainly not the worst thing that has ever happened to me. I dare say, it was rather a gift. It has given me time to reflect on what is important to me. It has shown me the selflessness and extreme kindness of others. It has taught me how important it is to be thankful for what you have. And I truly have an abundance that I am extremely grateful for. I thank my lucky stars every day for the extraordinary people in my life and all the experiences I’ve had thus far.

Leave a Reply

